I love pumpkins

Standard

Whether you call them winter squash or by a more specific name (acorn, butternut, pumpkin, kobucha or spaghetti), they are reliable, nutritious and tasty all year long.

The other day I suggested, ” We could have acorn squash for dinner, because it’s finally winter squash season.”

My friend replied, “With you it’s always the season for squash.”

And I realized she was right. I love to look at them, carve them, eat them, roast them and grow ’em when I can.

Here is one of my favorite recipes

Preheat the oven to 375F. Cut your winter squash of choice in half, scoop out the seeds and set aside.

Pour olive oil, salt, pepper and a few cloves of garlic in the center.

OR

Place a few pats of butter, sprinkle cinnamon and nutmeg.

Cook for 45 minutes, or until just mushy. Enjoy.

What is your favorite way to prepare a pumpkin or winter squash?

Leave a Reply

